(not my photo)

Date: Wednesday, March 26, 2015

Country: Laos

Restaurant: Champa Garden

Location: Oakland

Name of dishes: Champa Sampler, Pad Kea Moa

Description: Champa Sampler – It consisted of Lao sausages, Fried Rice Ball Salad, and Fried Spring Rolls.

Fried Rice Ball Salad – AKA Nam Khao is made with deep-fried rice ball, lao-style fermented pork sausage (Som Moo), chopped peanuts, coconut, sliced scallions, cilantro, fish sauce, and other ingredients.

Lao Sausages – AKA Sai Oua? Made from coarsely chopped fatty pork seasoned with lemongrass, galangal, cilantro, chilies, garlic, salt, and fish sauce.

Pad Kea Moa – AKA Drunken noodle. Thick rice noodle pan fried with onions, mushrooms, bell

peppers, cabbage, chili peppers, and we chose beef as our choice of meat.

Price: Champa Sampler – $11.50  Pad Kea Moa – $7.50

Rating: 8.5 out of 10

I’ve been to Champa Garden maybe 2-3 years ago with my boyfriend, who was actually just my friend at the time. I pass the restaurant on my way home and there’s always a bunch of people waiting for a table outside. When we got there we only waited 10 minutes and we sat at the bar. We had really great service since we were sitting in front of the waiters.

I ordered the Champa Sampler and a Beer Lao (Light) and Matthew ordered the Pad Kea Moa. I didn’t get carded! Well.. I never get carded at Asian restaurants. Haha. Anyway. I didn’t know how to eat my food, so I asked the waiter and he said I put all the foods in the cabbage they gave me. I ate it as a wrap and it was so delicious! It was the right amount of spicy! :p Matthew’s plate was really good too. It was like Chow fun just a little more spicy. The beer was extra light too. Didn’t have that strong beer taste to it, but it had 5% alcohol in it!.

I enjoyed the Laos Sausages and Fried Rice Ball the most. The chopped peanuts gave the salad a nice crunch!

Leave a Reply

