Abigail’s Moroccan Cuisine  This Week’s Special Guest! Angelicaaaaaa  Matboukha pivre rouge : bell peppers, oven roasted in Moroccan spices

                Salade avec pomme de terre: potato salad

                Salade avec de carrotte: slightly sweet, fresh carrot salad

I wasn’t exactly sure what kind of salad this was.. So I assumed it was all these salads combined!

    The restuarant was so cute and very much authentic!   Jarret d’agneau: A shank of lamb, smothered with caramelized onions, and raisins  Poulet Tajine avec de Tfaya: Chicken prepared with rich caramelized onions and fresh raisins  Couscous Tfaya: Moroccan-styled couscous, with caramelized onions and raisins

(Vegetarian dish)

  BELLY DANCER!  Matthew feeling extremely awkwarddddd   Moroccan Mint Tea

Date: Saturday, May 9, 2015

Country: Morocco

Restaurant: Abigail’s Moroccan Cuisine

Location: Alameda, CA

Rating: 6.5 out of 10

This post is very much late, but it’s here! Morocco was the country of the week and I chose this restaurant that was about 15 minutes from where I live. My special guest was Angelica and she actually ate there already so it was nice going with someone with prior experience. We got inside and the restaurant was very cute, it had the cutest decorations!

So on Saturdays the menu is already set except you pick an entree for the main course. The salad was really good! There was hummus so that was plus! It was mixture of all the salads they had and it was really quite tasty. There was also a side of bread. For my main course I picked the lamb shank because I heard things about it. Matthew picked the chicken and Angelica went for vegetarian. The food came out pretty fast. When I started to eat the lamb, the meat just fell right off the bone. I had lamb before, but I didn’t remember what it tasted like.. But let’s just say I’m not too much of a fan. I tried Matthew’s chicken though and it was good and tender!

On the side there was couscous, onions, and caramelized onions. I liked the onions, but that was the first time I had couscous and it was mmm.. maybe too different for me. I didn’t like the texture of it. Angelica’s “vegetarian” plate was ALL couscous. Haha! Then the belly dancer came out and she was cool! She was very friendly and pulled Angelica and I up to the front to dance. It was a very awkward experience, but I enjoyed it. Maybe I’ll most a video down below.

After we had dessert, the waitress brought out these really delicious Moroccan pastries. Almost tasted like shortbread cookies. She served those with mint tea and it was so good! I’m not usually a big fan of tea, but a fan of mint! it was nice. 🙂 She also served it by pouring tea from extremely high. “The higher you pour the tea, the more important your guest is” That was pretty awesome. Yup. I enjoyed the experience! Great entertainment!

Leave a Reply

