Ramen Hiroshi

  Special Guests: My GIRL friends! Carlitas, Ansmelica, and Smelxis

    Sapporo Beer: One of the four top beer in Japan! 5% alcohol content

  The only vegetarian dishes for Angelica.. There were only two choices

  Takoyaki is ball shaped snack made with flour batter filled with minced or diced octopus, tempura scraps, pickled ginger, and green onion.

  Karaage: Fried Chicken with Japanese mayonnaise on the side

  Hiroshi Tonkotsu Ramen: Pork soup with braised pork belly, soft-boiled egg, lotus root, Kikurage mushroom, seasoned bamboo shoot, Tokyo leek, and red ginger.

Gyoza: Pork dumplings

 Extra side of noodles for the ramen

Date: Friday, June 5, 2015

Restaurant: Ramen Hiroshi

Location: Walnut Creek, CA

Rating: 6 out of 10

I’m really bad at keeping up with my blog…but I am still going to ethnic restaurants! My Italy food adventure post will be up sometime this week! (if anyone keeps up with this). Anyway! I figured I’ll have multiple attempts to Japan food because I lived in Japan for a semester and no restaurant will be up to my standards.. (same with Filipino food). The Japanese restaurant I have chosen is called Ramen Hiroshi and I chose this place because I heard it was pretty ethnic.

My bf and friends came to this place on a Friday night and it wasn’t too crowded. We were greeted in Japanese by the Japanese employees! I guess in this area (east bay) it’s rare to find a Japanese restaurant owned by Japanese people.. The employees were extremely nice and took our orders. They said “Hai” after every order and called out the order out loud in Japanese for the cooks. So cool! And I understood a bit.

Matthew and I ordered karaage, takoyaki, sapporo beer, and the special hiroshi tonkotsu ramen. Angelica had a hard time ordering because they only had two vegetarian dishes and everything else was cooked in pork broth. :/ Later our karaage came our and it was delicious! it was crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside like it’s supposed to be and there was even a side of Japanese mayo on the side. 🙂 The takoyaki came out and I enjoyed it. My friends didn’t like it too much.. I don’t think they expected it to be mushy.. It WAS a bit more mushy than normal.

Then we got our ramen. The broth wasn’t strong enough for my liking; it was sort of bland. I added chili powder and spicy sauce, but it still was missing something. The pork was decent and tender. Also, the noodles were a bit tough. I ordered extra noodles on the side, but when I added it to my broth it wasn’t that great. They wouldn’t soak in the broth so it was too hard. I was sort of disappointed in their ramen.. but I DO have high expectations.

Overall, I give this place a 6 out of 10 because the ramen was just not doing it for me. :/ Anyone have recommendations for AWESOME AUTHENTIC Japanese food? I’m looking for yummy, spicy, greasy ramen! 😉

Yelp: http://www.yelp.com/biz/ramen-hiroshi-walnut-creek

Leave a Reply

