Phnom Penh House
(H)amok Trei – Sliced fish cooked with coconut juice, spices of lemongrass, wrapped and steamedTraop Ang – Grilled eggplant sauteed with garlic, topped with shrimp and pork

Date: Thursday, October 8, 2015

Restaurant: Phnom Penh House

Location: 8th Street, Oakland

Rating: 7 out of 10

Matty and I came to this restaurant three weeks ago. This was my first time trying Cambodian food. We ordered 2 dishes and 1 dessert. Our first dish was called Hamok Trei at the restuarant, online it’s spell it Amok Trei. But whatever, same difference. I thought this dish was mehh… I’m not a fish person, but I thought I’d try this dish because it’s Cambodia’s national (most famous) dish. It’s a very interesting taste. I could taste the coconut and it gave it great flavor.

The second dish was called Traop Ang which was grilled eggplant with garlic, shrimp, and pork. This is the restaurant’s most popular dish. I thought it was great! I love eggplants and it went well with the shrimp and ground pork.

The dessert we ordered was called Chhet Chean which was super good! It was a fried banana with a side of ice cream. I have thing about fried bananas and I can’t resist ice cream. My only problem with the dish was that the fried banana burnt my tongue, while I was getting brain freeze. It was enjoyable to eat, but not at the same time..

Overall, I enjoyed eating at Phnom. I tried foods I have never tried before and it was a great experience. I’d probably go back!

Leave a Reply

