Hi everyone!

In case you didn’t know, but I am a CODA! CODA stands for Child of Deaf Adult(s). In this case two because both my parents are deaf. 🙂

I wouldn’t say my life isn’t too crazy from a person who has hearing parents, but there ARE differences! This video has a few scenarios that I would always find myself in with having deaf parents.

Please watch, like, and subscribe to my channel! And if you have any more questions about how my life is as a CODA please comment here or on the video!

Thank you mom and dad for helping me out! And a big thanks for Matthew for filming this for me! You made this so much easier for me to edit. 🙂

P.S. Subtitling this was a pain!!!

P.S.S I look stupid in this picture.

3 thoughts on “CODA

  1. My name is Medy West. I am a CODA. My father, Richard West, lost his hearing gradually due to otitis media (severe ear infection). By the time he was seven years old, he could no longer hear. My mother, Felisa Dison West was born deaf. She has another sister (older than her), Amparo Dison Pacheco who was also born deaf. I grew up in such a loving atmosphere with my parents and I never considered their deafness as a handicap. I watched your video and memories of growing up as a CODA returned. Getting locked out of the house is one I can sympathize with. Of course, looking back now, I remember the experience as a funny but treasured memory. I can tell you one thing. My Mama and Daddy were the best parents in the world. I miss them.

    Like

  2. Hello, my name is Jay, I am also a Coda. I have submerged myself into the world of Coda and have found my place in this world as a camp counselor at Koda camps. My deaf uncle lives in SF and I have been there a few times. I recently worked at Kodawest in Socal and met a hundred or so new K/Coda. I am curious if you would like to know more about what we do and what we have learned being a Coda. KODALOVE

    Like

Leave a Reply

